Morrison and Eppinette, Historical Ouachita County, p. 48


Click for larger view

The covered bridge on Two Bayou Creek was a unique feature of Ouachita County for nearly a century. The bridge provided a major transportation link to the south between Camden and Stephens from the 1860s to the 1940s. It was torn down when it proved inadequate for modern use.

Photograph Courtesy of Mrs. Kelly Sayers

Click for larger view

Settlers continued to arrive in Ouachita County by covered wagon in the 1900's. Curtis Morgan used a Kodak box camera to record his 1916 journey from Illinois to Camden. This faded photograph shows his approach to the Martin Free Bridge across the Ouachita River at Camden.

Photograph from the Helen Morgan Collection







 Morrison/Eppinette Book